I Moved to My Vacation Destination & Have Never Looked Back

While in graduate school (after my children were launched) – (yes, I am old as dirt – one of those annoying Babyboomers who litter the landscape), I decided to move to the beach where I had the romantic notion I would finish my dissertation in peace and tranquility.

Well, after three years of writing, I threw in the towel, but I have never looked back from making the move, even though my course subsequently changed so dramatically. Previously, I had lived in suburbia – never my intention, but once there, it seemed important to raise my family in one neighborhood in an attempt to provide roots through continuity. I truly feel suburbia is a stiffling dead-end in more ways than one (the subject for another blog rant), but the wonderful thing about where I live now is there is no part of Santa Cruz County that is truly suburbia (well, there are a few neighborhoods that might count, but the preponderance of homes are very individual and unique). That is one of the key features I love about Santa Cruz.

It is very cool to live in what used to be your vacation destination. Santa Cruz County has so many wonders I’d have to be six people to do all of the interesting things there are to do. It’s so nice to be able to easily make every walk a walk on the beach. These days I favor East Cliff Drive, just above The Hook and Pleasure Point. On those days where life gets the best of you, seeing the vastness and beauty of the ocean puts everything into perspective. And the rhythm of the waves and salt air are not just cliches – the combination is just magic in terms of a relaxation elixer.

Living in such a beautiful place makes me wonder why anyone would settle for less or live in areas that are not aesthetically pleasing, if they have the means to live elsewhere. I am sure there are a million reasons ranging from family roots, to job accessibility to obliviousness to one’s environment. I could never go back to suburbia (never say never, but I MEAN it!). I love the diversity and beauty of Santa Cruz County. debryman.com

One Response to “I Moved to My Vacation Destination & Have Never Looked Back”

  1. Richard Says:

    Dear Deborah,

    I saw your photo of a beach and it reminded me of my childhood days in Auckland New Zealand where there was beauty and solitude by the sea and not a car for road for miles. (Much of the surrounding farmland is now being developed, alas.)

    Now my wife and daughter have dragged us off to live in ‘suburbia’ 20 miles from any beach, whereas previously I could ride a bike or walk to beautiful Coogee Beach, Maroubra or famous Bondi Beach – not perfect, but at least there was some salt water and some sand. But I still have my memories, and of course ‘the net.’

    Best wishes

    Richard

    (Down Under)


Leave a Reply

