Cocooning – Why It’s a Good Thing, Even in Real Estate

It has been an unusually cold winter in Santa Cruz. I have been thinking about getting cozy, cocooning, and introversion. I am an INTJ on the Myers-Briggs Inventory, so the introversion part comes naturally. In researching the phenomenon of cocooning, I was surprised to see the negative connotations, i.e., references to Agoraphobia and anti-social traits. I guess from an Extravert’s perspective, which supposedly the bulk of the American population is, that might make sense. But I have always thought of cocooning as positive: recharging, regrouping, revitalizing, going on retreat, taking a break to recharge my batteries.

If I were to guess why most Americans are said to be Extraverts, I would think it might have something to do with the pioneer mentality (exploring and settling land is not the work of introverts!), informed by a combination of Puritanism and Capitalism’s Calvinistic roots – which have a basic tenant that leisure is sinful.

Most people perceive real estate sales people as necessarily being extraverts, but many of the tasks of real estate are solitary (in fact most of the tasks are solitary, with the exceptions of prospecting and meetings with clients).

For me, cocooning is necessary and vital in allowing me to go inside to process information, rest, recharge, think, and explore my imagination.

Every year I look forward to making my New Year’s collage, which I view as a visioning tool for the upcoming year. This  is right up an introvert’s alley – it is the perfect cocooning activity performed during Winter, when the natural inclination is to go inside and get cozy. 
debryman.com

3 Responses to “Cocooning – Why It’s a Good Thing, Even in Real Estate”

  1. John Lockwood Says:

    An introverted and intellectual Realtor® colleague? Wow, what a treat!

  2. Maureen Says:

    I am an INTP. We introverts will have to speak up about the misperceptions people have about us. Or maybe we will keep it to ourselves… their loss. ; -)

    It’s been a cold couple of weeks with lots of snow here in Columbus. See you around Active Rain.


Leave a Reply

